Dilemma of a Working Dad

Posted: December 22, 2010 in Life's Experiences, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Today I face a dilemma: one, no doubt many working Mums face and deal with every day; however today it is my turn, as my wife has already left for work.

My daughter is full of cold, snotty nose, streaming eye’s, and sore ribs from coughing. Dosed up to the max on paracetomol and neurofen she lies restful in bed, peaceful at last after a turbulent night. Now I have to get ready for work.

My dilemma is that as a caring, loving father I want to be at home nursing my baby (shouldn’t really call her that as she is 10). As a manager, with the pressures as they already are at work, I should go to work. I am fortunate in that the In-laws live on my route to work, and are very flexible so I have a, “get out of jail card” to hand. I can empathise with you working Mums.

I guess, it will be dump and run as I go off to work; it has to be on this occasion. If the In-laws were busy then things would be different. However, I will feel guilty as I know my daughter will not want to be left alone.

The dilemma of a working Dad!

RickJO1

Comments
  1. I’ve been following your blog since you started. You have made amazing progress. This site is an inspiration for all pursuing a long transition versus the big chop.

    – Rob

Leave a Reply

