Christmas Day Analysis: how was yours

Posted: December 26, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , ,

There we are, another Christmas Day over with. Selfishly over indulged in the finer things in life; food, alcohol, presents and television. Having been caught up in the maelstrom of festivity I do have to remind myself of how lucky we are in comparison to those who, through no fault of their own, will not have shared the same experiences.

There has been three highlight’s to my Christmas this year: about the same number as there are every year, except for two significant differences. Christmas spent with my parents; and “Old Harry’s Game” by the talented Andy Hamilton.

Change one – We have as a family never spent Christmas at my parents home, mainly due to logistics. This time we made an effort and have enjoyed every minute. Being pampered from the minute we arrived, and no doubt until we leave in a few days. I think, in fact I know, the atmosphere created by Mum and Dad have made this year particularly stress free.

Change two – I listened to Andy Hamilton’s, “Old Harry’s Game – Christmas Spirit” admittedly on BBC i player, instead of the obligatory Queens Speech at 3pm. That man is a genius and will now take the 3pm slot on Christmas day every year. That means I will probably have to buy all existing seven series of Old Harry’s Game, or receive them for birthday or Christmas presents.

Well I expect to continue my enjoyment of this festive time into the New Year, without forgetting those less fortunate then myself: and if opportunity arises helping them when I can. I wish everyone who reads this a prosperous New Year, and hope to improve and increase my contribution to the blogging community next year.

Regards

RickJO1

Leave a Reply

