Capturing Generational Connections: ‘My Dad’ by Anthony Browne

Posted: June 16, 2024 in Daily Post, Family, Life's Experiences, Personal, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

The book, “My Dad”, by author and illustrator Anthony Browne, was initially bought as a gift for my 3-month-old grandson, Alfie-James (AJ), to kick-start his library as he gets older. As I stood in the shop flicking through the pages and reflecting on the words and illustrations it reminded me of how I looked at my dad (now 87 years-of-age) and it brought a smile to my face. My wife thought me quite mad when I suggested we bought two copies, one for AJ and one for my dad, for Father’s day.

Children’s books that span generations often do so through timeless themes, relatable characters, and universal lessons. Classics like “The Very Hungry Caterpillar,” “Charlotte’s Web,” “Where the Wild Things Are”, and “My Dad” resonate across ages because they address fundamental experiences of curiosity, friendship, and imagination. Illustrations that capture the essence of the story and language that is both accessible and evocative also play crucial roles. These books are shared by parents and grandparents who enjoyed them in their own childhoods, creating a cycle of enduring appeal. Their ability to connect emotionally and impart wisdom ensures their longevity across generations.

And yes, my dad has enjoyed the book. It would appear we share the same sense of humour after all…

Leave a comment